Hi Everyone!

My name is Sally Goldman and I’m the CVA at Little Rock Central High School NHS in Little Rock, Arkansas.

CentralHighSchool
NPS photo/Sally Goldman

Little Rock Central High School was one of the first tests of the Brown v. Board ruling and was known for the integration crisis of 1957, when nine black students (the Little Rock Nine) were prevented from integrating the school by Governor Orval Faubus, who sent the Arkansas National Guard to keep them out. Eventually President Eisenhower sent the 101st Airborne in to protect the Nine and allow them into the school.

NPS Photo
NPS Photo

Little Rock Central High School NHS is the only National Park unit that contains a working high school. Central is my alma mater and I graduated in May. I volunteered at the visitors center throughout my senior year and decided to defer enrollment to college (Lewis and Clark c/o 2020, in case you’re wondering) when I got the position.

graduation
You can’t see it in the picture, but there’s a volunteer pin on my graduation gown.

I’m very excited for this year. I’ve got a lot planned already and there are already some great events going on here, so if you’re ever near Little Rock, be sure to stop by!