Its about a month into this new position as a SCA Centennial Volunteer Ambassador, and I must say its the the funnest whirlwind of a ride I’ve been on since my last SCA position in the Delaware Water Gap National Park. fyp me

First off, let me introduce you to the wonderful city…that’s right CITY, my National Park is in, again you read that right too…it said National Park: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.Philly

My National Park is Independence National Historical Park, which also manages various other National Park sites that are within Philadelphia, PA:

  • Edgar Allan Poe National Historic Site
  • Gloria Dei {Old Swede’s} National Historic Site
  • The Germantown White House (a.k.a The Deshler-Morris House) National Park
  • Thaddeus Kosciuszko National Memorial, which is the smallest site in the National Park system at .2 acres…it’s a house or more specifically a row-home.

What I’ve learned since I’ve been here is that many people (including the locals) don’t realize that Independence NHP is a National Park or for that matter how big it is (about 10-12 city blocks not including the other sites we work to preserve). Most when they come to Old City Philadelphia, just know of or visit the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall. However, there are so many more things to see and visit, of which I will go into detail in later posts.INDE clocks

I’ve been able to meet a large, diverse, and incredible staff and volunteers that works here at Independence. All willing to help make this park great and informative place for people around the world to visit. I say round the world because little do people know but Independence Hall is also a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

As the 4th of July weekend is coming up things are getting uber crazy here at the park. There are already a bunch of events that have been happening here as part of what we call ‘Freedom Week’. I hope to write a post all about the happenings of the 4th here for everyone to enjoy next week. But until then here is a saying I’ve heard around Philly for the past couple of weeks:

“No one does the Fourth like the people that celebrate the 4th ofJuly first!”Unknown AR Soldier

Have a great weekend! -Kris Allen