I like social media its fun and a great way to share information. That said I would like to share my loving frustration about cobblestones.

cs2The sign reads: “In front of you lies a tenant of a cobblestone street (also called “pebblestone”) constructed about 1800. Although William Penn, the founder of Philadelphia, carefully planned the placement of city streets as early as 1681, it was not until 1762 that the city assumed responsibility for paving.”

Cobblestone is everywhere here at Independence National Historical Park. It creates a whimsical atmosphere that visitors and locals love. This is both a way to transport people back into the feel of historical Philadelphia and to keep historical remnants of the old roads.

cs3cs1As Independence National Historical Park is the center of what is known as ‘Old City’, Philadelphia there are a lot of cobblestone streets. I personally love the look of them and the sound car tires make when they drive across them (it’s very rhythmic). But I am sure you are still wondering why frustration?…Well it has a little to do with walking.

Walking on Cobblestone is no easy feat. I have almost fallen half a dozen times, mostly to my own chagrin. Thus I feel I must warn people to ‘Watch their step!’ every time they even think of walking on cobblestone. In fact, my advice is to pretend you are playing a fun game of hopscotch! Its the easiest and most fun way across a street! Look for the big stones to step on!

cs4Now as a final picture I want to say I aspire to this lady’s master level: walking a dog in flip-flops while walking on cobblestone. (Seriously, lets all give this lady a high-five.)cs5Also as a sidenote, there is a street near Independence that has the old wood-style cobblestone (4th and Camac Street) in case you are interested in seeing it.

wood cs6Follow Independence National Historical Park on Facebook and Twitter.