The last time I blogged, that National Park Service was just a young 98 years old, and I hadn’t seen about half of my Park. Things  have changed since! I was lucky enough to travel to the Northern part of the Parkway in Virginia and shadow park staff in the Ridge District–it was super cool! While up there I spoke with some amazing volunteers, including a retired couple that hikes a mile to and from a historic farm everyday, where they educate visitors about life on a mountain farm many years ago. Speaking of volunteers, I still have a lot to learn about their role in Parks, and how to balance the numerical goal we’ve been tasked with and what’s best for the Parkway.  On another note, the Parkway launched the NPS Centennial with a showcase of our wonderful partner organizations, and a Steep Canyon Rangers Concert!