Maroon bells of heather on Christmas tree leaves adorn tundra and springs along the Highline. Pink Laurels, sky pilot, and Jones columbine grace horns and aretes of the heavenly skyline.

In the soft light of dawn, in a meadow of red, glows the silver robe of a monarch grizzly. On the edge of space walks the mighty bighorn as water cascades from the peaks to the sea.

Purple cathedrals and white-threaded skylines, from the depths of my soul will not part, the frosty cascade, the white goat, the grizzly, Lord, I have Glacier in my heart.

Pink slipper blossoms along forest paths, rock amphitheaters with glacier blue, a mountain goat feeds in snow lily gardens and Saint Nick’s matterhorn stands proud and true.

Purple cathedrals and white-threaded skylines, from the depths of my soul will not part, the frosty cascade, the white goat, the grizzly, Lord, I have Glacier in my heart.

“In my heart and soul is the Glacier dynasty and a Glacier Park sister’s embrace, throughout my life’s journey, my heart will be in Glacier, the flowers, Glacierstock, and Chief Mountains grand face.”

Purple cathedrals and white-threaded skylines, from the depths of my soul will not part, the frosty cascade, the white goat, the grizzly, Lord, I have Glacier in my heart.

-“Glacier in My Heart” by Les MacLean

—–

Iceberg Lake
Iceberg Lake
View of Glacier National Park and its Livingston Range from Rt. 2 in West Glacier.
View of Glacier National Park and its Livingston Range from Rt. 2 in West Glacier.

I received a letter this morning from Les MacLean, a longtime visitor of Glacier, containing the lyrics to three songs about the national park service centennial. This one, “Glacier in My Heart”, truly struck a chord with me and I could not resist sharing it with the CVA community as well as our blog followers. Not only did this song remind me of the sheer beauty of my new home, it also reminded me of the ever expansive group of people that share my passion for public lands.

Andrew Lahr- Centennial Volunteer Ambassador @ Glacier National Park